MAGAZINE

PROFILE

INTERVIEW

MAGZINE       PROFILE       INTERVIEW

Baumeister B5 curated by David Adjaye

MAGAZINE

For me, the world is a collection of ongoing experiences that are being negotiated and maybe that is how I ultimately think about my architecture.“
David Adjaye in an interview with BAUMEISTER.

David Adjaye is one of the most exciting architects of his generation. He designed the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, D.C., which was inaugurated by Barack Obama in 2016, and in 2017 he was on Time Magazine’s list of the world’s 100 most influential people — as the only architect.

In his curated issue of Baumeister, David Adjaye examines how specific climatic, geographical and regional conditions can shape architecture. He gives us an insight into his work, his architectural approach, and his influences — which include places as diverse as Japan, India and Finland. The son of a diplomat who grew up in a number of different locations, he also takes a personal look at his African roots and explores ways in which the topics of home and identity can be defined in a globalised world.

Contents, Baumeister B05/2018: David Adjaye

Vita David Adjaye

Sir David Adjaye, OBE

born on 22 December 1966 in Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

David Adjaye was born in Tanzania. The son of a diplomat, he grew up in a number of different locations before his family settled in London, and it was there that he studied architecture at the Royal College of Art. He founded Adjaye Associates in 2000 and has since completed projects for numerous prestigious buildings, including the Nobel Peace Center in Oslo and the Idea Store in Whitechapel, London.

Adjaye designed the Smithsonian National Museum of African American History and Culture in Washington, D.C., which was inaugurated by Barack Obama in 2016, and in 2017 he was on Time Magazine’s list of the world’s 100 most influential people — as the only architect.

Portrait photo David Adjaye: Ed Reeve

Extract: Interview Baumeister with David Adjaye

Baumeister:  You just mentioned the relationship of climate and form-making which plays a very important role in this issue. In your essay “Climate Moderators“ (p. 8), you say that you have been aware of the impact of climate on architecture since you were a student. Where does this early interest come from?

David Adjaye: It comes from the experiences of my childhood, realizing the differences involved in visiting a Hindu Ashram in East Africa, a mosque in North Africa or a West African shrine house. I was very aware that several things were in play in each of these places. One was to do with religion and another concerned the climatic conditions. My own experience of these conditions was almost haptic in nature and left me with very powerful memories.

Baumeister:  Did you have teachers at your architectural school that supported this interest in climate and form-making?

David Adjaye: For my MA at the Royal College of Art in London, I was taught by Alison and Peter Smithson (p. 64) for one year, which looking back was the most profound encounter for me. Their influence cannot be underestimated because they helped me become more aware of my underlying tendencies. My interest in cities comes from my childhood and my travels, but also from Alison Smithson’s incredible lectures focussing on how to understand cities and the way they are. Peter Smithson had a special way of talking about built form, and the notion of the “climate moderator“ comes from conversations with him. This phrase had a profound significance for me because it impacts on all aspects of building — from understanding gutters, lintels or shade, through to porches, verandas and thresholds. If you expand it to include global ideas and cultural norms, you can understand how powerful it becomes as a tool of form-making.  

Baumeister:  How do you transfer this academic approach into your everyday work as an architect?

David Adjaye: In the Elektra house, which is the first house I ever made, I became obsessed with the way in which London ignores the beautiful northern light you get in the city, and instead concerns itself with facade-making and brickwork. This is why I designed a whole house with a large window, just to take in the light. The house functions as a light and environmental collector, to draw attention to the specifics of the place. Another important theme in this house to concerns the way you move from the public to the private realm. The door is not on the facade, you have to go down a short passage and then you enter discretely into the private realm. In this case, we made a threshold with an English quietness, which doesn’t often happen in the East End of London — because you usually open your front door straight to the street.

The complete interview can be found in Baumeister 05/19, starting on page 76.

Baumeister editor Alexander Russ, David Adjaye and architectural historian Peter Allison (from left to right) discuss ideas for the issue. (Photo: Anna Robinson)

The issue curated by David Adjaye explores, among other topics, how specific climatic, geographical and regional conditions can shape architecture. (Photo: Anna Robinson)

DON’T MISS AN ISSUE OF BAUMEISTER

Georg D.W. Callwey GmbH & Co. KG
Streitfeldstr. 35
81673 München
Germany

FON: +49 89 436005-0
FAX: +49 89 436005-113
E-Mail: info@callwey.de

          

          

COPYRIGHT ©2019 Georg D.W. Callwey GmbH & Co. KG ALL RIGHTS RESERVED

HEFT

VITA

INTERVIEW

HEFT       VITA       INTERVIEW

Baumeister B5: Kuratiert von David Adjaye

HEFT

“Für mich ist die Welt eine kontinuierliche Folge von Erfahrungen, die ich im Verhältnis zueinander betrachte, und so könnte man auch mein architektonisches Denken beschreiben.”  
David Adjaye im Interview mit BAUMEISTER.

David Adjaye gehört zu den spannendsten Architekten seiner Generation: 2016 wurde das von ihm entworfene Smithsonian-Nationalmuseum für afroamerikanische Geschichte und Kultur von Barack Obama in Washington eingeweiht, 2017 wählte ihn das Time Magazine in die Liste der 100 einflussreichsten Menschen der Welt – als einzigen Architekten.

David Adjaye setzt sich in der von ihm kuratierten Baumeister-Ausgabe mit der Frage auseinander, wie spezifische klimatische, geografische und regionale Gegebenheiten die Architektur prägen. Darin gibt er uns einen Einblick in sein Werk, seine architektonische Haltung und seine Einflüsse, die von Japan über Indien bis nach Finnland reichen. Als Sohn eines Diplomaten, der an vielen unterschiedlichen Orten aufgewachsen ist, wirft er einen persönlichen Blick auf seine afrikanischen Wurzeln und geht der Frage nach, wie die Definition von Heimat und Identität in einer globalisierten Welt aussehen kann.

Unser Tipp:
Bestellen Sie jetzt ein Mini-Abo im Baumeister-Shop und sichern Sie sich diese exklusive Ausgabe als Prämie!

Inhaltsangabe Baumeister B05/2018: David Adjaye

Vita David Adjaye

Sir David Adjaye, OBE

geboren am 22. Dezember 1966 in Daressalam, Tansania

David Adjaye wurde in Tansania geboren. Als Sohn eines Diplomaten wuchs er an vielen unterschiedlichen Orten auf, bevor sich seine Familie in London niederließ, wo er auch Architektur am Royal College of Art studierte. Er gründete Adjaye Associates im Jahr 2000 und hat seitdem viele prestigeträchtige Gebäude verwirklicht, darunter das Nobel Peace Center in Oslo und den Whitechapel Idea Store in London.

2016 wurde das von ihm entworfene Smithsonian-Nationalmuseum für afroamerikanische Geschichte und Kultur von Barack Obama in Washington eingeweiht, 2017 wählte ihn das Time Magazine in die Liste der 100 einflussreichsten Menschen der Welt – als einzigen Architekten.

Porträtfoto David Adjaye: Ed Reeve

Auszug Interview Baumeister mit David Adjaye

Die Architektur von Adjaye Associates sucht nach Antworten auf die spezifischen Fragestellungen eines Ortes. Wir sprachen mit David Adjaye über Afrika, seine Kindheit als Sohn eines Diplomaten und die Lehrer, die seine architektonische Haltung geprägt haben.

 

Baumeister: Sie haben gerade den Zusammenhang von Klima und architektonischer Form angesprochen, der in dieser Ausgabe eine wichtige Rolle spielt. In Ihrem Essay „Klimamoderatoren“ (S. 8) schreiben Sie, dass Sie dieses Thema seit Ihrem Studium interessiert. Was ist der Grund dafür?

David Adjaye: Das hat mit meiner Kindheit zu tun, und mit den Unterschieden, die ich zwischen einem hinduistischen Ashram, einer Moschee in Nordafrika und einem westafrikanischen Schrein als Kind wahrgenommen habe. Mir war sehr bewusst, dass in jedem dieser Gebäude ein Zusammenspiel verschiedener Faktoren stattfindet. Ein Faktor war die Religion, ein anderer die klimatischen Bedingungen. Ich habe diese Orte auf geradezu haptische Weise erfahren, was mich nachhaltig beeinflusst hat.

Baumeister: Hatten Sie während Ihres Studiums Lehrer, die Ihr Interesse am Zusammenhang zwischen Klima und architektonischer Form unterstützt haben?

David Adjaye: Als ich am Royal College of Art in London mein Masterstudium absolviert habe, gehörten Alison und Peter Smithson (S. 64) ein Jahr lang zu meinen Lehrern. Ihr Einfluss ist kaum zu überschätzen. Sie unterstützten mich dabei, mir meiner Haltung bewusst zu werden. Mein Interesse an Städten geht einerseits auf meine Kindheitserlebnisse und meine Reisen zurück, es hat aber auch mit den großartigen Vorlesungen von Alison Smithson zu tun, in denen sie erklärte, wie man eine Stadt analysiert und wie eine Stadt zu dem wird, was sie ist. Peter Smithson hatte eine sehr eigene Art, über gebaute Formen zu sprechen, und der Begriff des „Climate Moderator“ geht auf Gespräche mit ihm zurück. Dieser Begriff bekam für mich eine sehr weitreichende Bedeutung, denn er lässt sich auf sämtliche Elemente eines Gebäudes beziehen – von einer Dachrinne, einem Fenstersturz oder einem Schattenwurf bis hin zu Vordächern, Veranden und Schwellen. Wenn man das Konzept auch auf globale Standards und kulturelle Normen ausdehnt, wird klar, welche enorme Tragweite es als Instrument der architektonischen Formfindung haben kann.

Baumeister: Wie übertragen Sie diese Entwurfsphilosophie auf Ihren Büroalltag?

David Adjaye: Bei der Arbeit am Elektra House, dem allerersten Gebäude, das ich entworfen habe, hat es mich auf geradezu obsessive Weise beschäftigt, wie sehr das wunderschöne nördliche Licht in London ignoriert wird. Stattdessen dreht sich alles um die Fassadengestaltung und um das Mauerwerk. Deshalb habe ich dort ein Haus mit einem einzigen riesigen Fenster entworfen, um dieses Licht einzufangen. Das Haus fängt aber nicht nur das Licht, sondern auch die Umgebung ein, indem es auf die spezifischen Bedingungen des Orts verweist. Ein weiteres Thema, das mir bei diesem Projekt wichtig war, ist der Übergang vom privaten zum öffentlichen Bereich. Der Zugang findet über eine kurze, schmale Passage an der Seite statt, von der aus man sehr diskret in die Privatsphäre des Hauses eintritt. Die Türschwelle macht also in typisch englischer Zurückhaltung kein großes Aufheben. Das findet man im Londoner East End nicht so oft, die Eingangstür geht dort normalerweise direkt auf die Straße.

Das komplette Interview finden Sie in Baumeister 05/18, ab Seite 76.

Baumeister-Redakteur Alexander Russ, David Adjaye und Bauhistoriker Peter Allison (v.l.n.r.) diskutieren Ideen zur Ausgabe. (Foto: Anna Robinson)

In der von David Adjaye kuratierten Ausgabe geht es unter anderem um die Frage, wie klimatische, geografische und regionale Gegebenheiten die Architektur prägen. (Foto: Anna Robinson)

VERPASSEN SIE KEINE BAUMEISTER-AUSGABE

Georg D.W. Callwey GmbH & Co. KG
Streitfeldstr. 35
81673 München
Germany

FON: +49 89 436005-0
FAX: +49 89 436005-113
E-Mail: info@callwey.de

          

          

COPYRIGHT ©2019 Georg D.W. Callwey GmbH & Co. KG ALL RIGHTS RESERVED